The 2021 tech stack for a One Man project!

The 2021 tech stack for a One Man project!

Morning beautiful people!

Recently I've started my dream project and I had to figure out a tech stack that I'm going to use.

The project will contain a web app, mobile app, smart watch part and an open API that other developers can use to build plugins or even earn money on them in the future (marketplace).

My assumptions about the project:

  • Able to do it alone (at least to beta version)
  • Scalable (want to handle 10M+ users)
  • Easy to maintain
  • Little to no costs up to 10k users

I'm mainly a frontend dev so that part was fairly easy.

React because it's my main strength but also I know react native which will help with mobile part.

Typescript so it's easier to maintain after the codebase gets big.


The backend was a tough pill to swallow. I did some backend (some may even say a lot) but I never had to setup all the infrastructure alone from the ground up. So I googled... for 3 days straight! And here's what I came up with - a Jamstack architecture and go serverless. To be more precise I'll be using:

  • Netlify for building API, written in typescript (scalable and easy to maintain)
  • Fauna as my database
  • Gotrue for user authentication and management

This combination should be simple to learn and will check all the boxes listed above. Will be posting more updates here in the following weeks :)